Glastonbury’s Emily Eavis confirms #LiveAtWorthyFarm: A global livestream event

A livestream concert from Worthy Farm on Saturday, 22nd May

Glastonbury organiser Emily Eavis has confirmed plans for a global live stream concert which will take place from Worthy Farm on Saturday, 22nd May

While speaking to BBC  Radio 2’s Dermot O’Leary who sat in for Zoe Ball this morning (March 31), Eavis said: “Since last March we have been working on our first global live-stream ticketed event…”

“We’re working with this incredible director called Paul Dugdale and we’re taking you on a kind of a 5-hour journey through an evening at Worthy Farm with artists – so it’s going to be like the festival but without the people”

“Essentially we have got incredible bands like Coldplay, Damion Albarn, Haim, Ideals, Michael Kiwanuka, Jorja Smith and lots of special guests along the way…”

“We’re going to take you on a journey through all of those spots you know you recognise from Worthy Farm the Railway Line, the Stone Circle the Pyramid and it’s going to build into the whole epic journey around the site into the night, and what we are kind of hoping is for that people who watch this from home and they get a couple of friends over and they watch it in their Garden so they choose the people they watch it with and have a moment and get into the spirit of the festival while being able to see right inside these performances – as one continues feed”

Adding that: “For the first time ever we got performances in the Stone Circle we’re going to put a couple of artists in there and create an atmospheric  performance for people to watch at home.”

Looking ahead to 2022 Eavis said: “We’ll be back next year, that’s the plan… we’re working on that and fingers crossed we’ll you there…” Asked by O’Leary about the state of artist booking for next year Eavis replied: “Fortunate enough we’re good for next year which is a very good position to be in – we’ve got a combination of bands which were due to play last year – who have been put forward – and then we’ve got some new people who are touring, so a totally different line-up but there are some things that you will recognise as well.”

Advertisement

Tickets are on sale now from worthyfarm.live priced at £20, €23, $27.50 & AUD$35, with a number of timed streams available to accommodate audiences globally.

Filmed across the Festival’s Worthy Farm site at landmarks including the Pyramid Field and the Stone Circle, the event will see a range of artists giving their time to perform in support of the Festival, including Coldplay, Damon Albarn, HAIM, IDLES, Jorja Smith, Kano, Michael Kiwanuka, Wolf Alice, plus DJ Honey Dijon, who will all perform as part of an uninterrupted film production. There will also be a number of unannounced surprise performances.”

Europe, Africa & the Middle East, East Coast North America & Central / South America, West Coast North America, and Australia, New Zealand & Asia.

Livestream #1 – UK, EUROPE, AFRICA & MIDDLE EAST: 19.00 BST / 20.00 CEST & SAST / 21.00 MSK & EEST / 22.00 GST

Livestream #2 – NORTH AMERICA (EAST COAST) and CENTRAL & SOUTH AMERICA: 18.00 CDT / 19.00 EDT / 20.00 ART & BRT

Livestream #3 – NORTH AMERICA (WEST COAST): 19.00 PDT

Livestream #4 – AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND & ASIA (on Sunday 23rd May): 16.00 ICT / 17.00 HKT & PHST / 18.00 JST & KST/ 19.00 AEST / 21.00 NZST

More info and FAQs here.

A limited edition line-up poster for the event will also be available, with proceeds going to Stagehand, the live production welfare and benevolent fund which is helping crew who have fallen into the gaps in Government financial support during the pandemic.

Emily Eavis said: “After two Glastonbury cancellations, it brings us great pleasure to announce our first online livestream, which will present live music performances filmed across Worthy Farm at landmarks including the Pyramid and, for the first time ever, the Stone Circle. It will feature a rolling cast of artists and performers who have all given us enormous support by agreeing to take part in this event, showing the farm as you have never seen it. There will also be some very special guest appearances and collaborations. We are hoping this will bring a bit of Glastonbury to your homes and that for one night only people all over the world will be able to join us on this journey through the farm together!”

Shot by acclaimed Grammy-nominated director Paul Dugdale, the hugely ambitious production will take viewers on a journey of the world famous Glastonbury site, which typically greets more than 200,000 people each June. The show will be co-promoted and produced by the pioneering UK livestream business Driift, who have hosted globally successful livestreams for artists including Laura Marling, Nick Cave, Biffy Clyro, Niall Horan and Kylie Minogue, and BBC Studios Productions.

Advertisement

Recap:

Glastonbury was cancelled earlier this year (Thursday, 21 January), for the second consecutive year, due to ongoing concerns surrounding the coronavirus pandemic.

The organisers confirmed the cancellation of the Festival’s 2021 edition in a statement posted via their official channels, saying: “With great regret, we must announce that this year’s Glastonbury Festival will not take place, and that this will be another enforced fallow year for us. In spite of our efforts to move Heaven & Earth, it has become clear that we simply will not be able to make the Festival happen this year. We are so sorry to let you all down…”

Late last year (December 16, 2020), in an interview to the BBC, Eavis said: “We’re doing everything we can on our end to plan and prepare, but there are still just so many unknowns and factors which are completely out of our control. What we definitely can’t afford to risk is getting too far into the process of next year, only for it to be snatched away from us again. We lost millions this year, and we can’t risk that happening again.”

In the same interview, Eavis added that if the Festival could not happen in its traditional form, the organisers will consider inviting artists to perform on the farm for a series of live streams.

Advertisement

Echoing her words from last year – Eavis told The Guardian (Friday, 22 January), she was still working on Glastonbury-related projects , including possible live-streamed events.

“A lot of big artists have been in touch offering to perform for us at the farm, so we’re doing everything we can to make that happen. We would love to build a show that can be watched at home by people all over the world, and of course it would be a useful way for us to make some very welcome income,” she said.

Following the 2021 Festival cancellation announcement – Glastonbury founder and father of Emily Eavis, Michael Eavis, revealed earlier this year (Thursday, 21 January) that they were “considering” a smaller event for September, saying: “I would like to do something smaller somewhere around the anniversary date of when we started, which was the 18th of September 1970”.

Glastonbury was set to celebrate its 50th-anniversary last summer (June 2020) – with headliners in Taylor Swift, Kendrick Lamar and Paul McCartney – but was forced to cancel the 2020 instalment due to the coronavirus crisis just a week after the lineup was announced in March of 2020.

Glastonbury 2022 is set to take place at its natural home in Worthy Farm, Pilton, Somerset, from 22nd – 26th June 2022

Advertisement
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
©2021 GlastoFestFeed. All rights reserved.
About | Privacy Policy | T&Cs

Scroll To Top